Sylvaine Streams “Delusions”; New Album Wistful out May 13


It seems more than fair to expect that Sylvaine‘s second album and Season of Mist debut, Wistful, will live up to its title. Recorded in France, the follow-up to 2014’s Silent Chamber, Noisy Heart,  is set to release on May 13, and the new track “Delusions” has been unveiled ahead of time to herald its arrival. It’s not the first premiere from the record, but the song is particularly resonant, and as the opener it was clearly made to stand out.

A 10-minute stretch unfolds gracefully and shifts smoothly through airy atmospheres and more weighted grooves that will be familiar to those who caught on early to Sylvaine‘s one-time tourmates, Alcest, whose Stéphane “Neige” Paut also contributes drums to Wistful, but as there would have to be for such an emotional work, there’s a deeply personal aspect in “Delusions” as well that Sylvaine herself explains in the PR wire info below.

Art, info, preorder link and the stream of “Delusions” follow:

sylvaine wistful

SYLVAINE stream new track, “Delusions”

Norwegian multi-instrumentalist SYLVAINE is streaming the opening track from their forthcoming album ‘Wistful’. The track, titled “Delusions”, is streaming now.

Regarding the track, SYLVAINE comments:

“The song ‘Delusions’ was a natural choice for the opening position of ‘Wistful’, as it captures the range of different expressions shown throughout the whole album very well. From a pure a cappella intro, to the very ethereal, full and epic ending, ‘Delusions’ is a piece that is bound to take the listener on an emotional journey, one that is connected to the feeling of how our humanity is slowly corrupting our essential nature.”

‘Wistful’ will be released by Season of Mist worldwide on May 13. Pre-orders for the album are now available across several CD and LP formats at the Season of Mist E-Shop.

Track list
1. Delusions
2. Earthbound
3. A Ghost Trapped In Limbo
4. Saudade
5. In The Wake Of Moments Passed By
6. Like A Moth To A Flame
7. Wistful

With her sophomore album ‘Wistful’, multi-instrumentalist SYLVAINE is delving deeper into her characteristic ambient wall-of-sound landscapes that are painted by beautiful melodies, lingering guitar riffs, and atmospheres, which are all underlined by a solid groove.

Serving as the composer, recording engineer, producer and musician of all instruments herself, SYLVAINE created her critically acclaimed first full-length only with the aid of British mixing engineer Nick Terry and Ray Staff for mastering at Air Studios.

The recordings for ‘Wistful’ were completed in renowned French Drudenhaus Studios in spring 2015. It was mixed and mastered by the same team as her first full-length during autumn and winter of 2015. The album features contributions by Stephen Shepard and Stéphane “Neige” Paut as session drummers as well as violinist Coralie Louarnika and Thibault Guichard on cello.

Pre-order north america:

Sylvaine, “Delusions”

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Sylvaine Streams “Delusions”; New Album Wistful out May 13”

  1. Jose Humberto says:


Leave a Reply