Deep Purple to Release New Album in 2013

It would seem the countdown is on to the release of the first Deep Purple studio album in the better part of a decade. The actual counter the band has launched on their new website (pictured below) is a pretty good indicator, I guess. Don Airey, Roger Glover, Ian Gillan, Steve Morse and Ian Paice toured this past summer, taking the hits on the road in North America with an orchestra in tow, and they seemed in good spirits, so hopefully that carries into the record as well, which I’m sure will be hailed by Deep Purple fanatics as the best thing ever since the last one and largely ignored by everyone else because Ritchie Blackmore isn’t on it. So it goes.

This off the PR wire:


“The title of our new album is still a question mark to all of us… We have recorded a new album, and it’s a fantastic collection of songs. At the moment that’s the only affirmative point we can offer…”
(Ian Gillan, December 2012)

Eight years after the release of “Rapture Of The Deep”, following many rumours later revealed to be unfounded, Deep Purple, one of the most important and influential British rock bands of all time, have confirmed the release of a new album completely made of new studio material. This yet-to-be-titled album will be released stateside on April 30, 2013.

After various songwriting sessions in Europe, the band recorded and mixed the album in Nashville with producer Bob Ezrin (in his impressive hit record: Pink Floyd’s “The Wall”, Alice Cooper and many others).

The album is rumoured to be the perfect match from the original spirit of 70s Purple, and a fresh and modern production.
Ian Gillan has recently revealed a few working titles of songs that might appear on the album: “Out Of Hands”, “Uncommon Man” and “Hell to Pay”.

Deep Purple’s record company earMUSIC will reveal details about the new album in real time as soon as they will become available on a dedicated website where all band members will also be able to post and interact with the fans:

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply