Dead Feathers to Release All is Lost Aug. 23; New Song Streaming

dead feathers

It’s kind of amazing how far the fallout from the HeviSike Records shoe-dropping continues to go. Chicago’s Dead Feathers would seem to have made the best of a bad situation, and though it’s been three years since their self-titled EP came out, they’ve signed to Ripple Music to issue the follow-up full-length, titled All is Lost, and that’s pretty much a best case scenario going from an EP to a debut long-player anyhow, right? So good for them, and good for anyone who listens the new streaming track “Horse and Sands” at the bottom of this post as well, which I think shows quickly the appeal that might’ve caught Ripple‘s ear to start with, the European classicism meeting head-on with a brash American style. They make it easy to dig, so dig it.

Album’s out Aug. 23, which is in less than a month, so keep an eye out. Here’s whatnot from the PR wire:

dead feathers all is lost

Experience the Ascension of Psychedelic Quintet DEAD FEATHERS on ALL IS LOST | Stream ‘Horse and Sands’ now!

All Is Lost by Dead Feathers is released on 23rd August on Ripple Music

Since day one, these psychedelic Chicagoans have proven themselves to be a young band with limitless potential and lasting appeal. Building on the success of their 2016 self-titled EP on HeviSike Records, Dead Feathers have continued to cultivate a growing fanbase across the world, largely through ambitious tours and guest support slots with the likes of Kikagaku Moyo, Radio Moscow and Monster Magnet.

Fronted by the extremely talented Marissa Allen, whose vocals summon the spirit of Inga Rumpf and Linda Hoyle, Dead Feathers are influenced by rock bands of the 60s and 70s and the modern underground psych of today. Fusing a heavy, early 70s Fairports-via-Affinity vibe with a Dead Meadow and Black Mountain-esque appreciation for big riffs, their live shows are filled with a thunderous energy on stage that puts concert goers under their spell. Combining soulful and emotional songwriting with obscene levels of fuzz and reverb, overflowing bass lines and booming drums, Dead Feathers craft a mood with deft levels of artistry and showmanship.

Drop yourself in the incense smoke and reverberated grooves that is Dead Feathers this August with the release of All Is Lost on 23rd August through Ripple Music.

1. At the Edge
2. With Me
3. Cordova
4. Horse and Sands
5. All is Lost
6. Darling Sighs
7. Smoking Gun
8. Night Child (Exclusive to CD)
9. Not Ours to Own
10. Found Caravan (Exclusive to CD)

Tony Wold – Guitar
Marissa Allen – Vocals
Tim Snyder – Guitar
Rob Rodak – Bass
Joel Castanon – Drums

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply