Joy to Release Ride Along April 29


San Diego heavy psych rockers Joy made their debut on Tee Pee Records in 2014 with Under the Spell of… (review here), a bristling collection of private-press-style jams that seemed to epitomize the appeal of West Coast psychedelia. Classic in their chemistry, loose in their groove and vital in their execution, the band toured Europe last fall alongside Tee Pee Records labelmates Death Alley. In April they release Ride Along!, their exclamatory third outing, set to feature 10 tracks, one of them a ZZ Top cover, and guest appearances from members of Sacri Monti, Earthless and Radio Moscow.

Ever in the pursuit of the further out, the PR wire submits the following:

joy ride along

JOY to Release New Album ‘Ride Along!’ April 29

New LP from California Heavy Psych Squad Includes Members of Earthless, Radio Moscow & Sacri Monti

Award-winning San Diego Psych Rock band JOY will release its new album, Ride Along!, on April 29 via Tee Pee Records. Produced by vocalist / guitarist Zachary Oakley and recorded at San Diego’s Audio Design Studios (Earthless, Rocket From the Crypt), the album contains nine new JOY compositions and a searing cover of ZZ Top’s “Certified Blues”. Ride Along! features guest contributions from an all-star lineup of Cali psych rock heroes, including Earthless drummer Mario Rubalcaba, Radio Moscow guitarist Parker Griggs and guitarist Brenden Dellar, of Tee Pee labelmates Sacri Monti.

Ride Along! is the widely-anticipated follow up to JOY’s 2014 release, Under the Spell of Joy.

The sound of JOY has been described as “a spaced-out sonic groove-ride” and “outer reach freak out”, but that hyperbole alone doesn’t do justice to the group’s measured mode of attack. JOY puts a premium on establishing both structure and dynamics, its kaleidoscopic flurry and full-throttle riffage is anchored by both subtle detail and surprising textural depth. On the upcoming LP, Ride Along!, JOY deliver a deafening gauntlet of heavy psychedelia where no riff is left unturned. Ride Along! is a ferocious testament to the chest-shaking power of rock & roll!

Track listing:
1.) I’ve Been Down (Set Me Free)
2.) Misunderstood
3.) Evil Woman
4.) Going Down Slow
5.) Certified Blues (ZZ Top)
6.) Help Me
7.) Red, White and Blues
8.) Peyote Blues
9.) Ride Along!
10.) Gypsy Mother’s Son

Joy, “Confusion” official video

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply