audiObelisk & Giveaway: Stream Order of the Owl’s In the Noon of the After Day in Full, then Win a Signed Copy of their “Cocaine Super Demon” 7″!

Giveaway rules are the same as ever. If you want to enter, just leave a comment to this post and make sure your email address is included so I can get in touch with you if you win. Five winners will be chosen at random a week from today and sent a signed copy of the “Cocaine Super Demon” 7″ (pictured below), so good luck.

Alternating between bizarre psychedelic quirk and crushing Orange-hued stoner distortion, Order of the Owl‘s debut, In the Noon of the After Day, tops 34 minutes and finds the trio well entrenched in the heavy underground sound of their native Atlanta, Georgia. Doomers will probably recognize bassist/vocalist Brent Anderson (right above) from his tenure in Zoroaster, and indeed Order of the Owl share some of that band’s wash-of-tone ethic, veering into expansive chanting when need be, but In the Noon of the After Day is dirtier, nastier and altogether meaner sounding. Its seven tracks bleed bombast and abrasive tonality.

The swaggering riffs of “Cocaine Super Demon” and “Wraith” as played by guitarist Casey Yarborough are both ballsy and expansive, Anderson adding a kind of droning punk feel to the vocals of the latter while drummer Corey Pallon drives the build on his kick bass, eventually leading freakout fills and a groove that to call anything less than lethal would be to do it a disservice. Musically, Order of the Owl are dangerous and unpredictable, with the all-out doom of “Class War” and the eight-minute “Mighty Demon Lover/Dead Trees” giving way to the ambient “Cope” before the title-track finishes out the release (it was billed as an EP, but I’d argue for calling it a full-length) with a spacier feel.

Artwork hasn’t been finalized yet, but In the Noon of the After Day is due for release before the end of the year on The Great Big, and it’s my pleasure to host it for your streaming pleasure on the player below:

Here is the Music Player. You need to installl flash player to show this cool thing!

Thanks to Order of the Owl and 313 Management for allowing me to host this stream and supplying the 7″s for the giveaway. For more on the band and the upcoming release of In the Noon of the After Day, find them on Thee Facebooks here.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

25 Responses to “audiObelisk & Giveaway: Stream Order of the Owl’s In the Noon of the After Day in Full, then Win a Signed Copy of their “Cocaine Super Demon” 7″!”

  1. Josh Workman says:

    I’d like a copy.

  2. Reihe says:

    FUCK YEAH!!! Come to MN!!!

  3. psychedoomlic through and through

  4. Michal says:

    sounds good guys!

  5. PeterJ says:

    gimme gimme! saw o.o.o when the toured with Sourvein — kicked ass

  6. Rebecca says:

    Fuck yes! This record is pretty sexual.

  7. Fathead says:

    Very radical stuff. Does the cocaine super demon come with cocaine? Or is he/she/it made of cocaine? Or maybe it can CREATE cocaine?!? I’ll be excited for any of the above possibilities

  8. Craig says:

    They played a killer show last month in NOLA. Looking forward to them steamrollin through town again.

  9. PostmanDan says:


  10. Scott 313 says:

    Thanks for your support Bro! You are the best!

  11. Freddie Meagher says:

    This is good shit!

  12. Korras says:

    Sourvein and Order would have been a fucking killer show. The type, I’d imagine, that vibrates the clothing and makes beers go skyward.

  13. lucAs says:

    Great sounds!

  14. Dan says:

    Brain = melted, sick album.

  15. Dan says:

    Brain = melted.

  16. Thanks everyone! Keep an eye out for upcoming dates with Sourvein and Demonaut!

  17. Goatlord says:

    I would love to win this! I respect this band a heap-ton, and I love stoner rock/metal and 7″!

  18. Ian pospisil says:

    Jammed with order of the owl in Birmingham. Good shit gotta have a copy.

  19. John says:

    Rock…..I want OOTO ROCK 7″!

  20. Brian says:

    Love it man, it is so refreshing to see a power trio ripping out the heavy goodness of the gods!!! A+++

  21. Tom liland says:

    Fuck yeah sick shit been waiting to hear the full release!

  22. justin p says:

    That track is no F@***ing joke!

Leave a Reply