The Crotals Premiere New Track “Fissures”; Announce Horde LP out Sept. 7

Posted in audiObelisk, Whathaveyou on July 11th, 2018 by JJ Koczan

the crotals (Photo Julien Barras)

Swiss post-sludgers The Crotals will release their new full-length, Horde, on Sept. 7 through Tenacity Music. It is the second album from the Lausanne-based four-piece behind 2015’s exclamatory Fuel! Flames! Blast! (review here), and it marks the expansion of the band from a trio to a four-piece with the inclusion of Randy Schaller on vocals. Where previously guitarist Guy Borel was the long scream to be heard, Schaller brings his own harshness to the new record on songs like “Fissures,” which you can hear premiering at the bottom of this post. It’s three minutes long and skin-peelingly heavy, moving from the noise rock of the first LP into thicker and more rolling territory. The uniting factor between the two releases is they’re both pissed off and heavy as hell, but “Fissures” demonstrates plainly some of the changes that have taken place in The Crotals‘ sound over the last three years.

And with a number of guest appearances aside from the full-time addition of Schaller, Horde seems to promise even more expansion than “Fissures” gives away up front. Fair enough. I’ll be interested to hear how the sax sounds on “Hello.”

In the meantime, hello:

the crotals horde

Following the release of their debut full-length album “Fuel! Flames! Blast!”, Swiss sludge-metal group The Crotals recruited Randy Schaller from Voice Of Ruin as their new vocalist expanding into a quartet completed by Guy Borel on guitar and vocals, Maude Oswald on bass and Fabrice Marguerat on drums.

The four-piece immediately started working on a new full-length album titled “Horde” and the new material sees The Crotals going for a heavier route, combining the raw and corrosive riffing of Entombed, Motörhead and High On Fire with the groovy vibes of Kvelertak and Black Cobra.

Featuring guest performances from members of The Giant Robots, Sludge, Samael and Moonraisers, “Horde” is set for release on CD and LP on September 7th via Tenacity Music.

1. Falling
2. Hello
3. La Horde
4. Melpomene
5. Fissures
6. Skogen
7. Overcrowded
8. Cradle
9. Lava
10. Dry Flood

Produced, recorded, mixed and mastered by Raphaël Bovey and The Crotals at MyRoom Studio.

Horde also features some great aficionados from Lausanne, Switzerland:
– Julia (The Giant Robots) tells some Swedish tales
– Makro (Samael/Sludge) burns some guitar tracks on Melpomene
– Denis (Moonraisers) adds Brass on a massive Hello
– Randy (Voice Of Ruin) joined the band and howls on Fissures.

The Crotals:
Maude Oswald (baryton)
Guy Borel (guitar & vocals)
Fabrice Marguerat (drums)
Randy Schaller (vocals)

The Crotals, “Fissures” official track premiere

Tags: , , , , ,