audiObelisk: The Devil Premiere “Alternative Dimensions” from Self-Titled Debut

Posted in audiObelisk on October 18th, 2012 by JJ Koczan

Shrouded figuratively and literally, multinational outfit The Devil will issue their Candlelight Records self-titled debut on Nov. 20. The masked band are committed to mystery even to the point of remaining instrumental, letting various samples do the talking for them throughout The Devil‘s 13 component tracks, which vary some in approach but stick largely to a cinematic style touching on the dramas of ’90s Euro doom.

The band was picked up by Candlelight after their singles “Universe” and “Extinction Level Event” went viral and received accolades from across the cult-minded underground, and sure enough, the appeal of The Devil‘s The Devil is plain to see — perhaps as much related to aesthetic and their presentation as to the music itself, but nonetheless tapping musically into a niche that’s largely unexplored in modern doom’s scope. No doubt the album will garner comparisons to Sweden’s Ghost for the look and Satanic theme, but where Ghost ultimately is an exercise in pop construction, The Devil are chasing something more nefarious in terms of sound.

Today I’m glad to have received permission to premiere the track “Alternative Dimensions” from the album. It’s the penultimate cut and one of the heaviest on the record, with atmospheric synth washes and quotes from Carl Jung and others. You’ll find it on the player below, followed by some background on the track courtesy of the band.

Please enjoy:

Here is the Music Player. You need to installl flash player to show this cool thing!

The Devil on “Alternative Dimensions”:

“Alternative Dimensions” is one of the heavier pieces on The Devil album and deals with some heavy subject matter. Human evolution has taken a turn in the wrong direction and become very distracted from it’s true purpose. Humanity is suffering from a collective amnesia, we have forgotten our origins and we have forgotten what we really are. Human beings in the modern age use only 10% capacity of the mind. Imagine the potential if humans were to unlock the remaining 90% power of the mind. There is significant scientific evidence that supports the hypothesis that consciousness can exist independently of the physical body. If that is the case, then this entire physical reality we have come to believe is real… is just an illusion.

The self-titled debut from The Devil will be released Nov. 20 on Candlelight Records. Thanks to the label for letting me host the premiere. For more on the band, check out their website or the label’s website.

Tags: , ,

UK Special — The Devil Get Their Due on Nov. 20

Posted in Whathaveyou on September 25th, 2012 by JJ Koczan

The idea of a masked, anonymous band of Satanic cult rockers is already something pretty well branded by Sweden’s Ghost, but London’s The Devil seem to have a pretty good grip on what it takes to pull off this kind of thing, if their video for the song “Universe” below (which has over 250,000 views on YouTube) is anything to go by. Candlelight Records will release The Devil‘s self-titled debut in North America on Nov. 20, with touring reportedly to follow next year.

Behold the musings of the PR wire:

THE DEVIL: Self-Titled Debut Set For North American Release

Candlelight Records, in cooperation with The Silent City, today confirms November 20 as the North American release date for The Devil, the self-titled debut album from the London-based sextet. The masked, all-instrumental band self-produced the entire recording.

THE DEVIL is not a typical metal band. Combining traditional/classic heavy metal with select historical, political and conspiracy-laden oracles, the anonymous masked and cloaked musicians present a cinematic soundscape that is sure to strike the fancy of the curious. The 13-track album was crafted at six different recording studios and possesses a sound that is unlike any other you will encounter. Earlier this year, the internationally assembled band launched the beginning of the album campaign via two select videos. Since initiation, over half a million YouTube views have been logged.

Two songs from The Devil have already been tapped for soundtrack inclusion; “Extinction Level Event” licensed to upcoming film E.S.P. expected late 2012 and “Divinorium” licensed to upcoming film The Fury. The Fury is being directed by James Colmer (Superman Returns, House of Wax, See No Evil, will feature Erica Leerhsen (Blair Witch Project, Texas Chainsaw Massacre) and is expected early 2013.

Director James Colmer comments on his attraction to THE DEVIL for the upcoming feature film. “Choosing a track for a feature film is often times a difficult task. For us it was a quest of finding a song that could convey the driving, thematic and ominous presence of this psychological thriller in the opening scenes. When I first heard ‘Divinorum,’ I immediately felt the connection I was looking for. It was as though it had been composed specifically for this film. I truly believe you can change the entire feeling and structure of a scene by making the right choice when it comes to music. I know we have made the right choice with THE DEVIL.”

The Devil Track Listing:
1. Divinorum
2. Universe
3. Astral Dreamscape
4. World of Sorrow
5. Devil & Mankind
6. The Silent City
7. Akashic Enlightenment
8. Extinction Level Event
9. Intervention
10. Illuminati
11. Transcendence
12. Alternative Dimensions
13. Ascension

THE DEVIL plans to begin touring to support the album in early 2013. Collectively they note, “It is great to finally see the light at the end of the tunnel, having worked on this band and album for years. We look forward to bringing our unique live show to audiences around the world.”

Tags: , , ,