Hound Release Out of Space Nov. 27

hound (Photo by Sara Willard)

Out of Space follows Hound‘s 2014 debut, Out of Time, so yeah, it would seem the Philly heavy rockers are working on a theme. Fair enough. SRA Records is handling the new album, and to herald its arrival, in addition to a release show Nov. 27, Hound will play two gigs Nov. 20 and 21. The first, as one might expect, is in their hometown. Underground Arts is the venue. The second is a bit more of a surprise, as it seems they’ll hoof it down to New Orleans on Nov. 21 to play The Howlin’ Wolf. That’s a hell of a trip to make in a day.

I mean, I guess it’s possible even if they’re not flying. The Googles says it’s an 18-hour drive from one venue to the other, and technically that’s less than a full day’s 24 hours, but not an easy trip by car. Very rock and roll, either way. Sounds like crazy fun.

Haven’t seen any audio come out from Out of Space yet, but you can stream Out of Time on the Bandcamp player under the PR wire whathaveyou below:

hound out of space

HOUND to Release New Album ‘Out of Space’ November 27

Philly Hard Rock Dogs Hammer Home the Heavy on Beastly New LP

Philadelphia underground rock band HOUND will release its new album Out of Space on November 27 via SRA Records. The power trio — guitarist / vocalist Perry Shall, drummer Chris Wilson (also of Ted Leo and the Pharmacists) and bassist Patrick Hickey — whose sound has been described as “just the right combination of attack and restraint” recorded the album at Studio 4 in Conshohocken, PA (Title Fight, Braid). Out of Space is the follow up to HOUND’s 2014 debut, Out of Time.

“To me, ‘Out of Space’ is like, if Motörhead’s Stiff Records-era songs were written by someone who was stuck living in Philadelphia their whole life,” says Shall. “The record channels hard rock influenced by the ideas of time and space. Space being Philadelphia”

Led by Shall (a visual artist who’s done album covers for JEFF the Brotherhood and Diarrhea Planet and made videos for Tweens and Pujol among others), HOUND is a band that understands the deadeningly powerful effect of hammering down the riff. Reaching into heavy psychedelic blues and blasting it into the 21st century, the group mates metallic heft with punk’s economy and tempo in a coupling that evokes the New Wave of British Heavy Metal. On Out of Space, HOUND sweeps aside the glossy metal of the moment with waves of gritty fuzz, pushing swirling volume through battered amps. Admirers of vintage rock ‘n’ roll won’t be disappointed.

HOUND will throw a Philadelphia album release party for Out of Space on November 27 at Everybody Hits. Special guests include The Kominas and Dangerbird. For full details, visit this location.

Track listing:
1.) Emotional Collapse
2.) Mortality Jam
3.) Walkin’ the Fine Line
4.) Intro
5.) Cold Blooded
6.) Super Junkie of Being
7.) Stone Carvin’ Man
8.) Walking Curse
9.) Over the Edge


Hound, Out of Time (2014)

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply