Yidhra to Release Hexed on Sept. 13

Following up on their 2009 self-titled debut EP, Los Angeles doomers Yidhra (also stylized YIDHRa) will issue their first full-length, Hexed, on Sept. 13. The band takes its name from a shapeshifting Lovecraftian goddess, and if you missed their EP, all four of its tracks have also made their way to the long-player, which was produced by Bill Metoyer and makes an immediately burly impression with the eight-minute “Witch Queen,” which is about as close as Yidhra come to an eponymous song. There’s a considerable undercurrent of extreme metal to a lot of what Yidhra does on the album — like at any moment the tension they build might explode into death growls and blastbeats — but their interests seem to rest in weighted grooves and chugging riffs, resulting in a potent brew that at times gives an impression of what Orange Goblin might sound like at three-quarter speed.

The entirety of Hexed has been made available via Yidhra‘s Bandcamp, and you’ll find it on the player beneath the album info below:

“Hexed”, the first full length studio album from Los Angeles’ doom-metal wizards YIDHRA, is set to be released through all major digital outlets on Friday the 13th of September 2013. A vinyl release is slated for winter 2013. “Hexed” is the long awaited 9-song follow-up to 2009’s critically acclaimed self-titled EP and was recorded at Skull Seven Studios in North Hollywood, CA by legendary producer Bill Metoyer (SLAYER, CORROSION OF CONFORMITY, TROUBLE, ARMORED SAINT, DARK ANGEL, SACRED REICH, CRYPTIC SLAUGHTER, D.R.I.) Metoyer had this to say about working with YIDHRA, “Not since TROUBLE have I worked with a band in this genre so talented. YIDHRA! I have no clue what the name means, but to me it means DOOM!”

“Hexed” track listing:

01. Witch Queen
02. Oath Breaker
03. Blood is the Harvest
04. Raven’s Flight
05. Ancient Ones
06. Conquest for Nova
07. Mai-cob
08. The Lament of Longinus
09. Dagon

YIDHRA are streaming the entire “Hexed” album on their bandcamp page. Check them out using the link below.

Says YIDHRA founder and guitarist Dave Krocker: “Working with Bill was awesome. Just the thought of his history, and reading his name on all those influential records, it was kind of crazy. He knows his stuff and he’s super easy going. It was great!”

Comments vocalist Ted Venemann: “We went in the studio with a plan to make a record that ebbed and flowed. One that would organically segue, like our live shows, from one powerful emotion to the next and Bill helped us capture all of that intensity and more. “Hexed” is a super heavy and grooving album and we are really proud of what Bill and us accomplished.”

Bassist Thomas Harris says: “We’ve developed a far more solid musical bond as a band since the EP. Honing and refining our sound and having a master of the craft such as Bill capture it is fantastic!”

Drummer Chris Hannan adds: “Bill, is an absolute pro. He has the gift of understanding your band’s sound & purpose. He’s extremely patient, and really knows how to capture the feel of each song.”


Yidhra, Hexed (2013)

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Yidhra to Release Hexed on Sept. 13”

  1. ShayKM says:

    Get this fucking album! Incredibly heavy, and moves from one perfect
    headcrushing groove to another seamlessly. The entire album is one long experiment in punishing the listener with perfectly composed DOOM. This is a record for all who understand what ”heavy” actually means!

Leave a Reply