Loop to Release Array 1 EP this Summer; First New Music in 25 Years

Posted in Whathaveyou on April 23rd, 2015 by JJ Koczan


Further proof of how deeply the adage of never-say-never applies to rock and roll. Loop, classic logo and all, have a new EP coming this summer. Array 1 will see release through ATP Recordings, the label arm of the All Tomorrow’s Parties festival, and will be the first new stuff to come from the Robert Hampson-led outfit since 1990, which if you’ve lost count, was 25 years ago. Twenty-five.

Loop have been doing live shows for over a year now — they killed in 2014 at Roadburn and Hampson did likewise this year sitting in with Hugo MorganWayne Maskell and Simon Poole (all also of The Heads) for a Kandodo set — but new studio material is something different entirely. Morgan and Maskell and guitarist Dan Boyd join Hampson in Loop, and Array 1 promises to be the first in a series of outings from the revived underground legends.

Info follows, courtesy the PR wire:

loop array 1

Loop Announces First New Material in 25 Years, Upcoming Shows

New ‘Array 1’ EP Available 6.22 Digital, 7.24 Physical on ATP

Towards the end of 2013 saw the reformation of one of the most revered and respected late 80’s UK alternative bands, LOOP. The group, founded by Robert Hampson, hadn’t played together since the early 90’s but got together to curate a night at the legendary All Tomorrow’s Parties at Camber Sands. US dates followed in 2014 and they then got back in the studio to start recording. The result is three brand new releases coming over the next year which see the band return to their hugely unique and era defining sound whilst sounding fresh and exciting.

The first release is ‘Array 1’, four tracks and 32 mins of haunting, aggressive, beautiful noise. ‘Precession’, ‘Aphelion’, ‘Coma’ and ‘Radial’ are the first songs to be heard from their recording session done in Sub Station Studios in Rosyth in Scotland with the current line up of Robert Hampson (vocals/guitar), Hugo Morgan (bass), Wayne Maskell (drums) and Dan Boyd (guitar). With only an early version of ‘Precession’ having had any previous outing (at a show at the Garage in London at the end of 2014), this is the very first new music from the band since their third album, 1990’s lost classic ‘A Gilded Eternity’.

The next tracks will be released in the Autumn in keeping with Loop’s previous habit of putting out music in batches, Hampson describes it as “one project, with the same concept, delivered in bulletins”.

With the music out on 22nd June 2015, this ties in with a show at the Roundhouse in London on 28th June where they are part of the line-up of ATP’s Season at the Roundhouse. The event, curated by post rock band Mogwai to celebrate their 20th Anniversary, will be spread over six nights and see performances from the likes of Public Enemy, GZA, Godspeed You! Black Emperor and The Jesus and Mary Chain.

A1. Precession
A1. Aphelion
A3. Coma
B1. Radial


Loop, “Precession” Live at Relentless Garage 2014

Tags: , , , ,