Snail Part Ways with Lead Guitarist Eric Clausen

Posted in Whathaveyou on July 25th, 2013 by H.P. Taskmaster

And then there were three… again. Lead guitarist Eric Clausen joined up with Snail founders Mark Johnson (guitar/vocals), bassist Matt Lynch (bass) and Marty Dodson (drums) when they reformed in 2008 to release the stellar sophomore outing, Blood (review here), the next year on MeteorCity. A fully reformed four-piece, if one spread somewhat geographically between California and Seattle on the West Coast, Snail issued their worthy follow-up in the form of third album, Terminus (review here), and today, even as their fourth is in progress — more on that below — the band announced that Clausen has left to focus on his own projects, one of which, Division Process, has a new record of its own in the can.

I’m not sure where in the process of making that fourth offering, titled Feral, Snail actually are, but having been fortunate enough to see them with Clausen in the lineup, I know he added a considerable amount to the band. Nonetheless, there’s a certain amount of enjoyable symmetry to them winding up a trio after starting out that way with the release of their self-titled debut (review here) back in the early ’90s.

Here’s how it is:

It is with heavy hearts that we must announce that our friend and bandmate Eric Clausen will be leaving Snail. We will continue to support him in his many musical endeavors and wish him the success that he deserves.

Says Eric – “I’ve decided to devote my time to my own projects. I loved my time with my bros and wish Snail all the best and will continue to show my support of them.”

You’ll be able to hear more from Eric soon as he will be releasing a new CD under the name Division Process.

In other news, Snail have revealed the songs that will appear on Feral when it is released:

Snail, Feral tracklisting
Smoke the deathless
Born in captivity
Thou art that
Fast woman
A mustard seed
Building a haunted house
Come home

Snail, The ’93-’94 Blood Demos (2012)

Tags: , , ,

Snail Guitarist Eric Clausen Launches New Side-Project Division Process

Posted in Whathaveyou on January 17th, 2013 by H.P. Taskmaster

Currently in the recording studio with bandmate Matt Lynch, Snail guitarist Eric Clausen has announced a new project featuring Collyn McCoy of The Ultra Electric Mega Galactic and London-based drummer Darby Todd of The Darkness. L.A.’s a weird town, man. But the band sounds cool and Lynch‘s studio, Mysterious Mammal, can be relied on for a full, thick sound, so I’ll be interested to hear how Division Process‘ debut, The Jesus Horses, turns out when the time comes.

Lynch sent the announcement down the PR wire:

Members of Snail Embark On New Project — DIVISION PROCESS

Eric Clausen, lead guitar player for Snail, has entered the studio with Snail bass player and producer Matt Lynch to begin recording his solo project the Division Process. The album, entitled The Jesus Horses, is being recorded at Lynch’s Mysterious Mammal studio in Los Angeles and features some heavy players, notably Darby Todd (The Darkness, Hot Leg) on drums and Collyn McCoy (Otep, Trash Titan, The Ultra Electric Mega Gallactic) on bass.

Division Process is the sole vision and songwriting of Clausen, who plays all guitars and performs all vocals. The Jesus Horses will fuse many styles of heavy music and rock — slow and heavy with melancholy and beauty, sludge and butt rock with experience and searching. Heavy down-tuned instrumental beds with gritty, melodic metal vocals and intensely personal lyric imagery. The songs sound like they emerge from a heavy haze of nicotine and crank.

Some band signposts for reference: Snail, early Metallica, DIO, Motorhead, Tool, Kiss, Alice in Chains, Melvins, Nirvana.

The current track list:

The Acts Of The Apostles
Annex Mecitrocity
Night Of The Sleestak
Pills For Breakfast
Paper Covers Stone
Something With Protien
The Daze Of Lines And Doses
The Jesus Horses (Dear Mother Interlude)
Dope Hope mp3
Stone (BHT)
The Sweet Goodbye

Tags: , , , ,