Ape Machine, Salem’s Bend and High Priestess to Embark on ‘The Great Northern Expedition’

I remain a sucker for any number of things: Heavy riffs. Dark roast coffee. Cruelty-free baby duck races. Star Trek anything. Also belonging on that list is a well-named tour, and yeah, if you’re headed into Canada, calling your run ‘The Great Northern Expedition’ makes some sense to me. Ripple Music labelmates Ape Machine, Salem’s Bend and High Priestess will head out on this stint together come next month, and all three are pushing new material one way or another. Ape Machine have a new record coming this Fall. Salem’s Bend┬átentatively in the winter, and High Priestess‘ self-titled will be out next month, just a week before they hit the road. Golly, you’d almost think these things were coordinated ahead of time.

Details for the shows came down the PR wire and looked an awful lot like this:

ape machine salems bend high priestess tour poster

Ripple Music tour w Ape Machine, Salem’s Bend, High Priestess

The Great Northern Expedition – So named is the psychedelic, stoner-doom and rock n’ roll tour that will be tramping up the West Coast, through Canada and back through the western states, leaving a trail of good vibes and heavy harmonic frequencies in its wake. Ape Machine, Salem’s Bend and High Priestess will bring their tasty sonic goodness to all the aforementioned territories as messengers of the ever-growing Ripple Music collective.

Ape Machine’s new prog-infused LP, Darker Seas, is slated for a Ripple Music September release. Los Angeles based doom trio, High Priestess, will be powering out tunes from their self-titled Ripple release which drops May 18th. Salem’s Bend released their Ripple debut back in 2016 and it has steadily picked up steam and recognition as “the sort of rock and roll statement that comes from a time forgot but wants to push to a bold new future.” The band also is putting the finishing touches on a follow up and hopes for a late 2018 release. All three groups are well known for their searing, energy filled live performances. Dates and Cities below!

Salem’s Bend with High Priestess
Fri May 25 – San Francisco, CA – Thee Parkside
Sat May 26 – Grants Pass, OR – The Haul
Sun May 27 – TBA

Ape Machine, Salem’s Bend and High Priestess
Mon May 28 – Portland, OR – Tonic Lounge
Tue May 29 – Seattle, WA – Funhouse * (w Slow Season)
Wed May 30 – Vancouver, BC – Astoria * (w Slow Season)
Thu May 31 – Calgary AB – Palomino
Fri June 1 – Edmonton AB – Temple
Sat June 2 – Vantopia Festival
Sun June 3 – Siksika AB – Siksika Community Centre
Mon June 4 – Kalispell, MT – Old School Records

High Priestess
Tue June 5 – Spokane, WA – Observatory
Wed June 6 – Boise, ID – Shredder
Thu June 7 – Reno, NV – Shea’s Tavern
Fri June 8 – TBA

https://www.facebook.com/theripplemusic/
https://twitter.com/RippleMusic
https://ripplemusic.bandcamp.com/
http://www.ripple-music.com/

Ape Machine, Coalition of the Unwilling (2015)

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply