Bruce Lamont Sets March 23 Release for Broken Limbs Excite No Pity; Album Teaser Posted

Chicago-based experimentalist Bruce Lamont — he of Corrections House, Yakuza, Bloodiest, and so on — will release his new solo album, Broken Limbs Excite No Pity, on March 23 via War Crime Recordings. There’s a trailer video posted.

Okay, so those are pretty much the basics. You can go ahead and expect those to be the only things in any way basic about the release. Lamont, whose contributions on sax vocals, guitar and a variety of other noisemaking implements have helped push releases from more bands than I can count to new levels of progressive accomplishment, is a deeply creative sonic explorer. I last saw him on stage in his hometown with Scott Kelly in 2015 (review here) and though that night and everything about that trip in general was weird as hell — ask me about it sometime — it was nonetheless incredible to see what he brought to even such an intimate, quiet setting in terms of sonic breadth.

The rundown of accomplishments that the PR wire tosses out below is formidable, and from the track descriptions it looks like Lamont‘s covering a pretty significant range on the release as a whole. I’d expect no less.

Art and details:

bruce lamont broken limbs excite no pity

BRUCE LAMONT To Release Broken Limbs Excite No Pity Via War Crime Recordings This March; Album Teaser Posted

When BRUCE LAMONT released his first solo album, Feral Songs For The Epic Decline, seven years ago, he was best known as the leader of the psychedelic Chicago jazz-metal group Yakuza. Thus, that album’s morose, arty songs came as a radical departure, showing him to be just as comfortable constructing droning, Swans-like epics as exploding with industrial and black metal-inspired rage. In the six years since, his creative journey has taken him farther and farther afield. He’s part of electronic noise-dirge squad Corrections House, with Eyehategod’s Mike IX Williams, Neurosis’s Scott Kelly, and longtime creative partner Sanford Parker; the mind-melting jazz-prog-hardcore trio Brain Tentacles, with Keelhaul bassist Aaron Dallison and grind drummer par excellence Dave Witte, and dozens of other projects, large and small, collaborating with an ever-growing network of like minds.

Broken Limbs Excite No Pity, LAMONT’s second solo album, is in many ways a harsher experience than Feral Songs. Tracked in Chicago’s Minbal Studios with Sanford Parker behind the board, it’s a one-man show like its predecessor — LAMONT sings, harmonizing mournfully with himself, and plays saxophone, guitar, percussion, and electronics. Also like last time, it opens with an eleven-minute epic. “Excite No Pity” starts out featuring multiple crying saxophones and deep, almost Bill Laswell-esque bass drones, but is ultimately overtaken by searing electronic noise. “MacLean” warps an acoustic guitar melody with tape effects, to keep it from sounding too much like a Kansas song, while “Goodbye Electric Sunday” is a unique blend of spaghetti western soundtrack and beat poetry over an almost hip-hop groove. LAMONT uses his voice as an instrument almost as often as he uses it to put across his lyrics. On “Neither Spare Nor Dispose,” he wails and groans as loops of forcefully strummed acoustic guitar and rumbling percussion thunder past, and static washes over it all like a wave.

At its base, music is sound (noise, if you like) organized into patterns. And those sounds/noises don’t have to be pretty ones, as long as the patterns are compelling. BRUCE LAMONT understands this intuitively, and has demonstrated an ability to create hypnotic, ominous, emotionally resonant and even somehow transcendent arrangements of patterned sound. These aren’t “songs” like you hear on the radio. They’re literally sound art. This is an album you dunk your head in like a bucket of ice water, and when you pull it back out, you’re not the same person you were before. – Phil Freeman, 2018

Broken Limbs Excite No Pity will see release on CD, digital, and limited vinyl formats via War Crime Recordings on March 23rd.

Broken Limbs Excite No Pity Track Listing:
1. Excite No Pity
2. 8-9-3
3. MacLean
4. Goodbye Electric Sunday
5. Neither Spare Nor Dispose
6. The Crystal Effect
7. Moonlight And The Sea

Bruce Lamont, Broken Limbs Excite No Pity album trailer

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply