Iron Tongue Announce New Album Witches; Premiere “Lose Yourselves Away” Video


Three years after their debut album, The Dogs Have Barked, the Birds Have Flown (review here), arrived via Neurot Recordings, Little Rock, Arkansas, heavy troupe Iron Tongue return next month with their second full-length, Witches. A DIY release is expected to be ready to roll by the end of next month, and in advance of that, you can check out a brand new — as in, put together this week — video for the opening track “Lose Yourselves Away,” featuring the recognizable vocals of Christopher “CT” Terry of Rwake.

Terry, who’s also known for helming the Southern metal documentary Slow Southern Steel, took the time to give some background on the making of the record, about which I’ll have more up closer to the release — digital Nov. 8, physical Nov 14. The Nate Powell artwork, Terry‘s words, the tracklist, lineup info and video follow here, ready for the digging.

Be informed:


Iron Tongue – Witches

Here’s the facts: We wrote the album about two years ago, directly after the release of the last record. Recorded it almost a year ago. It’s way, way more stripped down compared to the last record. Just basic hard rock. One of our guitarists, Jason Tedford, recorded it. It’s done in the same studio as the last record.

We recorded most of it live with very little overdubs. The reason for the lag was our second guitarist, the engineer, quit the band last June, so we went into the foxhole, came up with a new plan, and starting setting it out. We have a new guitarist, and we are rolling. Already have new songs in the arsenal with shows throughout the mid-South into the New Year.

Also one little cool thing to point out is a guest appearance from electric pedal steel player Todd Beene. He used to play in Lucero, and now plays with Chuck Ragan. He laid down a monster of a dirty slide solo on the song “Starless.”

Cover art is by Nate Powell. He’s a north Little Rock, AR, native, known for the graphic novel series March about the life of Congressman John Lewis.

Iron Tongue, Witches tracklisting:
1. Lose Yourselves Away
2. The Giant
3. Starless
4. Stones and Chains
5. Devils Friend

Iron Tongue is:
Mark Chiaro – Guitar
Andy Warr – Bass
Stephanie Smittle – Vocals
Stan James – Drums
CT – Vocals
Scott Diffee – Guitar

Iron Tongue, “Lose Yourselves Away” official video

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply