Chickn Self-Titled Debut Due Oct. 10; New Song Streaming


Well, certain among those running for president in the US may not have heard of Aleppo, but Athens-based heavy prog rockers Chickn definitely have. The three-piece will issue their self-titled debut next week on Inner Ear Records, and as a precursor, they’ve got the seven-minute “Aleppo/Jam” streaming now, showcasing a lush sense of arrangement and clearly being fleshed out over the period of months last year during which it was recorded. Though plenty rich, given the list below of instruments contributed directly by the trio and the myriad guests with which they apparently worked, I somehow doubt that “Aleppo/Jam” tells the whole story of Chickn‘s Chickn, but if you’re just getting your feet wet with the band — as I am — it’s an intriguing place to start.

From the PR wire:


Athens psych-trio Chickn shares the first track from their upcoming debut album

Chickn’s self-titled debut album is finally out! This is a radio zapping on a 68-minute car drive. This is a field unfolding in front of your very eyes and at the same time a call of wandering. This is an attempt of some people to invent themselves through playing. This is Jetztzeit rock. A sound conceived as jump in the free sky of history.

The album was composed by the Athens-based trio in Athens and Valencia from fragments of many years during the period 2014-2015. It was recorded from July to October 2015 in Sonic Playground Studio and in Iraklis Vlachakis’ home in Athens. The album was produced by Chickn and Nikos Triantafyllou and it was mastered by Alan Douches in West West Side Studios in New York.

Chickn are:
Angelos Krallis (vocals, electric, resonator & acoustic guitars, electric sitar, lute, synthesizers, tsambouna, udu, drum machine, steel drum)
Evangelos Aslanides (drums, percussion, djembe, darbuka, bendir)
Pantelis Karasevdas (drums, percussion, congas, djembe)

Personnel appearing on this album:
Sir Kosmiche (bass), Konstantinos Protopappas (electric guitar), Haris Neilas (darbuka, congas, cowbell), Andreas Kiltsiksis (oud, amanes), Prins Obi (additional synths, additional vocals), King Elephant (saxophone), Nikos Triantafyllou & Iraklis Vlachakis (engineering)

[Inner Ear Records]
Format: Vinyl, Digital
Release Date: October 10
Pre-order: Inner Ear / Bandcamp

1. Chickn Tribe
2. Omens
3. Aleppo – Jam
4. Modular Prayer
5. Taqsim – Rhy – Tavk Hava
6. Forget – Small Things
7. Articulation
8. Modular Prayer (Reprise)
9. Prelude On Mary
10. Shifting Time Blues – Akhedia

Chickn, “Aleppo/Jam”

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply