Goatess Set April 15 Release for II: Purgatory Under New Management


Swedish doomers Goatess announce an April 15 due date for their second album, II: Purgatory Under New Management, on Svart Records. The opening track from the record, “Moth to Flame,” was first streamed here with with initial announcement of the release back in November, but a firm date was still a ways off. Doom in Spring! All the better. Goatess will be touring Europe to support the outing, which follows their righteous 2013 self-titled debut (review here), issued via the same label. I could say more, but the bottom line is if you’re a doomer and you’re not looking forward to this one, you should be.

Cover art by Göran Nilsson and other info follow, fresh off the PR wire:

goatess ii purgatory under new management

GOATESS set release date for new SVART album

Appearances at the prestigious Roadburn and Heavy Days In Doomtown, more touring with Barabas, Serpent Venom, and Iron Void, bass player problems… A lot has happened in the Goatess camp ever since the release of their self-titled Svart debut in the summer of 2013, but having gone through thick and thin, this is a rejuvenated and even more focused version of the band which is about to unleash their sophomore album, Purgatory Under New Management, on April 15th via Svart Records.

“After all those shows, things kinda stagnated for a bit,” admits now their legendary vocalist and former Saint Vitus and Count Raven frontman Chritus Linderson, “to the point we ached to do something, so we decided to go into the studio again. This album is the result of that frustration and hardship during that limbo meantime.” Last year, Goatess parted ways with their former four-stringer Findus. For a while, Izmo Hedlund (former Terra Firma drummer and currently in Atlantic Tide) replaced him, “but sadly, he had other obligations at an early stage and was prevented to commit further.” Recently, although he lives in southern Sweden whereas the rest of the band is in Stockholm, they’ve hired Peter Wallberg from Void Moon and Assassin’s Blade as their new permanent bass player.

Satisfied with how Goatess had turned out, the band decided to once again locked themselves up in March 2015 in Reflections Sounds studio nearby Stockholm with Tomas Roenberg and Glen Ericksson at the helm. While circumstances beyond their control delayed the mixing stage for a while, Chritus says that the result “does live up to its title,” inspired by the impression that “the Catholic Church had simply removed the whole idea of ‘purgatory’ from their belief and scriptures for whatever reason. Whether this is the truth of the matter, I haven’t bothered to check up on,” he chuckles. “Still, I just found it humorous thinking if we were the ones taking over since leadership is supposedly vacant. A friend of ours actually came up with the title – so we nicked it with her blessing. It gave me a great lyrical freedom, as almost anything could be written and still fit into the frame of things.”

At nearly 65 minutes, Purgatory Under New Management is as epic as its predecessor yet different. Far more psychedelic-sounding, its eight songs portray a band not afraid of expanding their horizons and minds beyond the mere ‘doom’ or ‘stoner’ tags, heading for something that is both atmospheric and progressive in spirit, even if you’ll feel in suspension somewhere between the moon and the sun one moment and assaulted with a ton of bricks the next. And of course, you’ve got Linderson’s unmistakable voice, a shaman in his own right, preaching to all us sinners to repent before it’s too late. Watch out for Goatess on tour in Europe this April!

Tracklisting for Goatess’ Purgatory Under New Management
1. Moth to Flame
2. Purgatory Under New Management
3. Murphy Was an Optimist
4. Crocodilians and Other Creepy Crawling Shhh…
5. Shadowland
6. Silent War
7. Wrath of God
8. Good Moaning


Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Goatess Set April 15 Release for II: Purgatory Under New Management

  1. jose humberto says:

    surely ill will buy this one

  2. Jeannie Gongora says:

    Can’t wait ! <3

Leave a Reply