Electric Citizen to Release Higher Time May 13

Ohio foursome Electric Citizen will offer up their sophomore outing, Higher Time, on May 13 via RidingEasy Records. Digital and physical preorders are up already — three months ahead of time is a pretty solid lead — and the album opener, “Evil,” can be heard below. The record follows 2014’s debut, Sateen (review here), and as I recently wrote a bio for it that I’ll probably post here sooner or later, I don’t mind telling you that I’ve heard the thing in its entirety. Look out for a bigger, more modern sound overall than the first album, and in particular a standout performance from vocalist Laura Dolan, who proves more than able to carry a track when called upon to do so.

“Evil” gives a pretty good glimpse at what Electric Citizen are up to with Higher Time, so feel free to dig in if you’re so inclined. Info for the album came down the PR wire:

electric citizen higher time

Electric Citizen set May 13 release date for Higher Time

Electric Citizen, the Cincinnati-based four-piece release their anticipated follow-up album, Higher Time, on May 13 via RidingEasy Records.

The band recently gave fans an early preview of the ten-track album with the song “Evil,” heard here: http://bit.ly/20Jhkez.

“We chose producer Brian Olive (The Greenhornes, Dan Auerbach, Dr. John) because he’s an excellent musician with a great ear for rock ‘n’ roll, and a trusted friend,” notes singer Laura Dolan. The quartet, which also includes guitar player Ross Dolan, bass player Randy Proctor and drummer Nate Wagner, joined Olive at The Diamonds Studio in Cincinnati. Mixing was done at Nashville’s famed Easy Eye Studios and handled by Black Keys’ engineer Collin Dupuis.

Higher Time track list:
1. Evil
2. Social Phobia
3. Misery Keeper
4. Devils in Passing Time
5. Golden Mean
6. Higher Time
7. Ghost of Me
8. Natural Law
9. Crux
10. Two Hearted Woman

Pre-orders are available via www.ridingeasyrecs.com (physical) and electriccitizenband.bandcamp.com (digital). Tour dates will be announced soon.


Electric Citizen, “Evil” from Higher Times (2016)

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply